Book Review #28 – Heartless

Title: Heartless
Author: Marissa Meyer
Info: 453 pages – Prequel/Retelling of Alice in Wonderland, YA – Feiwel and Friends
Read from January 10th 2017 to February 26th 2017.

15877006_720164258147983_8437013196253954048_n

Plot:

There is only one girl the King of Hearts wants to marry – Catherine. But Cath has other plans for her future: She wants to open a bakery with her best friend. For her parents this is unthinkable. They want to see her as queen, so they try to push her into the king’s arms, not thinking about how she might feel about it. But the night he wants to propose to her, everything comes different, when Cath meets the mysterious new court joker Jest, who wakes feelings her she’ll never feel for the king. She wants to choose her own fate, but in a world like Wonderland fate has its own plans.

My Thoughts:

I was so, so excited for this book. I love Alice in Wonderland and I love Marissa’s books, so the mixture could only be great. In the end it took me quite long to read the book. It’s not that it’s bed – everything but that. No, the book was very well written and I love all the characters and the differences and similarities it has to the original Alice story – but it also didn’t make me to want to go on reading. I wasn’t going crazy about what would happen next if I didn’t find time to read it in two days. It made me sad and I can’t really explain why this happened, because – like I said – I really enjoyed it. It showed a complete new view onto Wonderland and was explained with a lot of love and details. I could feel how much of her heart Marissa put into this story. I’m completely in love with Cath and Jest, they are wonderfully worked out characters. I like the twists in the plot and how it rounds up to the original story. I have to say that the biggest twist at the end of the book was much too short for me. After the story was drawn out a lot – not in a bad way – the end felt so suddenly, like something was missing.

Minus-Points:
-The end.
-It didn’t hold me.
Plus-Points:
+The characters.
+You can feel the love Marissa put in it.
+The same level of similarities and differences between the original and new story.
+The known characters really feel like their original versions.

Favorite Quote:
“As it so happens, Mr. Jest, I’ve sometimes come to believe as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
Favorite Characters: Cath & Jest

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars – ★★★★

One thought on “Book Review #28 – Heartless

Leave a Reply

