Books & Authors #21 – November & December Wrap-Up

Hey my lovely book-nerds!

Before I will write about my reading year 2016 and about the best books of the year – here is my wrap-up for November and December.

Bevor ich über mein Lesejahr 2016 schreiben kann und die besten Bücher dieses Jahres – ist hier mein Abschluss für November und Dezember.

—November Wrap-Up—

The New World, The Wide, Wide Sea & Snowscape by Patrick Ness
[Nicht auf Deutsch publiziert.]

These are the three short stories that are part of the Chaos Walking trilogy that I’ve read with my best friend and liked a lot. The first one is set before the first book, the second long before the first, but should be read after the second and the third is set after the third. My favorite of the three is The New World, it’s very sad but shows amazingly how Viola felt about everything when coming to New World.

Das sind die drei Kurzgeschichten, die teil der Chaos Walking Trilogie sind, die ich zusammen mit meiner besten Freundin gelesen habe und sehr mochte. Die erste spielt vor dem ersten Buch, das zweite lange bevor dem ersten, sollte aber nach dem zweiten gelesen werden und das dritte spielt nach dem letzten Buch. Mein liebstes der drei ist The New World, es ist wirklich traurig, aber schaut wunderbar wie Viola sich bei ihrer Ankunft auf New World gefühlt hat.

Pages: 39/36/43
Review: (x)
Rating: ★★★★★/★★★★/★★★★

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone | Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen & Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets | Harry Potter und die Kammer des Schreckens by J.K. Rowling

I’ve started re-reading the Harry Potter series together with a friend and it was really great, like coming home. Reading it a second time made me find so many more details, but I also cried at every mention of Lily and James and Sirius. I’ll forever love this books!

Ich habe angefangen, die Harry Potter Reihe zusammen mit einer Freundin noch einmal zu lesen und es war wirklich gut, wie nach Hause kommen. Es ein zweites Mal zu lesen, zeigt mir so viele Details, aber ich habe auch jedes Mal geweint, wenn Lily und James und Sirius erwähnt wurden. Ich werde diese Bücher für immer lieben!

Pages: 336/352
Rating: ★★★★★/★★★★★

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
[Nicht auf Deutsch publiziert.]

I love this book so much! I couldn’t stop reading and loved every little bit of it. So many diverse characters with flaws that I fell in love with immediately. It’s one of my best friends favorite books and now it’s one of mine, too. I can’t wait to read the second, but I only want to do it, when I have really time to concentrate on it.

Ich liebe dieses Buch so sehr! Ich konnte nicht aufhören zu lesen und habe jedes bisschen geliebt. So viele verschiedene Charaktere mit Ecken und Kanten, in die ich mich sofort verliebt habe. Es ist eines der liebsten Bücher meiner besten Freundin und jetzt ist es auch eines der meinen. Ich kann es nicht abwarten, dass zweite zu lesen, aber ich will es erst machen, wenn ich wirklich Zeit habe, mich darauf zu konzentrieren.

Pages: 462
Review: (x)
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Magical Movie Handbook | Phantastische Tierwesen und wo sie zu finden sind: Das Magische Handbuch by Michael Kogge

A short book with some nice information’s about the movie, nothing special but it has a lot of great pictures and it gave a look into the movie, it was good to know before watching it.

Ein kurzes Buch mit einigen netten Informationen über den Film, nichts Besonderes, aber es hat viele tolle Bilder und es hat mir einen Blick in den Film gegeben, es war gut zu wissen, bevor ich den Film gesehen habe.

Pages: 92
Rating: ★★★

Monthly Favorite: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Completely:

7 Books
with 1.360 Pages
and an average rating of 4,3 Stars
★★★★

—December Wrap-Up—

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban | Harry Potter und der Gefangene von Askaban & Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire | Harry Potter und der Feuerkelch by J.K. Rowling

Some more fantastic re-reads. | Mehr tolle Re-Reads.

Pages: 448/767
Rating: ★★★★★/★★★★★

Measure for Measure | Maß für Maß by William Shakespeare

Obviously I love everything by Shakespeare, but this is not one of my favorites. The end reminded me so much of one of his other plays. It was good but for me some things have been missing.

Offensichtlich liebe ich alles von Shakespeare, aber dies ist nicht eines meiner liebsten. Das Ende hat mich sehr an eines seiner anderen erinnert. Es war gut, aber ich habe ein paar Dinge vermisst.

Pages: 104
Rating: ★★★★

I Could Chew on This | Da könnte ich drauf rumkauen by Francesco Marciuliano

Poems by dogs, how amazing is this? This book is really funny. The poems are great and sound like they are taken directly out of a dogs head. I found our dog so often in them, it was amazing and funny to read.

Gedichte von Hunden, wie cool ist das? Das Buch ist wirklich witzig. Die Gedichte sind toll und klingen als hätte man sie direkt aus dem Kopf eines Hundes genommen. Ich habe unseren Hund oft darin gefunden, es war toll und spaßig zu lesen.

Pages: 110
Rating: ★★★★

Briefbuch: Advent mit Oscar Wilde by Oscar Wilde
[Not published in English.]

This is an advent calendar with words written by Oscar Wilde for all 24 days. It looks like a book but the pages where held together and only able to open with a letter opener. It was amazing every day, though the things weren’t exactly christmasy.

Dies ist ein Adventskalender aus Worten von Oscar Wilde für alle 24 Tage. Es sieht aus wie ein Buch, aber die Seiten sich zusammen gehalten und können nur mit einem Brieföffner geöffnet werden. Es war jeden Tag toll, obwohl die Worte nicht besonders weihnachtlich waren.

Pages: 48
Rating: ★★★★★

A Christmas Carol | Ein Weihnachtsmärchen by Charles Dickens

This was also made into an advent calendar with 24 little books. Made really cute with illustrations, very lovely.

Dieses war auch in einen Adventskalender verwandelt mit 24 kleinen Büchern. Sehr süß gemacht mit Illustrationen, sehr schön.

Pages: 288
Rating: ★★★★★

Doctor Who: Twelve Doctors of Christmas by BBC Doctor Who
[Nicht auf Deutsch publiziert.]

I got this as a Christmas present from my friend Marta and started reading it immediately on Christmas Eve. 12 stories, one for each doctor, set at Christmas. So great written and amazing illustrations.

Ich habe es als Weihnachtsgeschenk von meiner Freundin Marta bekommen und sofort am Heiligen Abend angefangen zu lesen. 12 Geschichten, eine für jeden Doktor, die an Weihnachten spielen. Toll geschrieben und wundervolle Illustrationen.

Pages: 318
Rating: ★★★★★

Monthly Favorite: Twelve Doctors of Christmas

Completely:

7 Books
with 2.082 Pages
and an average rating of 4,7 Stars
★★★★★

Leave a Reply

