Book Review #13 – Stars Above

Title: Stars Above
Author | Autor: Marissa Meyer
Series | Reihe: The Lunar Chronicles, #4.5 | Die Luna Chroniken, #4.5 [Series Review: (x)]
Info: 369 pages – compilation of short stories + an expert of Marissa Meyer’s new book Heartless (November 8th 2016) – Feiwel and Friends | Nur ein Teil der Geschichten ist auf Deutsch publiziert, ich habe jeweils einen Link zum Verlag hinzugefügt.
Read from September 23rd 2016 to September 30th 2016. | Gelesen vom 23. September 2016 bis zum 30. September 2016.

14550993_10207472234672661_68927359_o

– The Keeper –
Focuses on:
Michelle Benoit
Set before Cinder, should be read after (at least) Scarlet.
★★★★★

Scarlet’s grandmother is a very important character, but we don’t get to know much about her in the books – this story changes that. Now we know why Scarlet is how she is: She got it all from her grandmother. I really like the character of Michelle; she risked her life to save a child she never met before. I really love her for that.

Scarlets Großmutter ist ein sehr wichtiger Charakter, aber wir erfahren nicht sehr viel über sie in den Büchern – diese Geschichte ändert das. Jetzt wissen wir, warum Scarlet so ist wie sie ist: Sie hat es von ihrer Großmutter. Ich mag den Charakter Michelle sehr, sie hat ihr Leben riskiert um ein Kind zu retten, dem sie vorher nie begegnet ist. Ich liebe sie sehr dafür.

– Glitches –
Focuses on: Linh Cinder
Set before Cinder (after The Keeper), should be read after (at least) Scarlet.
★★★★★

Oh, my poor baby Cinder… This story tells her first weeks with her adoptive family. After this I love her even more. It shows how scared she was in the beginning and how much she wanted them so love her. It makes you understand why she’s so sarcastic often, maybe she’s a little bit hiding her true feelings with it (I still love her sarcasm so much!). It also makes you even happier about her finding friends and love in the books. Aaaaand! Cinders and Ikos first meeting!

[Titel: Das mechanische Mädchen(x) – Sollte mindestens nach „Wie Blut so rot“ gelesen werden.]
Oh, mein armes Baby Cinder… Diese Geschichte erzählt ihre ersten Wochen mit ihrer Adoptivfamilie. Nach dem liebe ich sie noch mehr. Es zeigt wie viel Angst sie am Anfang hatte und wie sehr sie von ihnen geliebt werden wollte. Es gibt einem zu verstehen warum sie oft so sarkastisch ist, vielleicht versteckt sie ihre Gefühle damit ein wenig (Ich liebe ihren Sarkasmus trotzdem noch wahnsinnig!). Es macht einen außerdem noch glücklicher darüber, dass sie Freunde und Liebe in den Büchern gefunden hat. Uuuuuund! Cinders und Ikos erstes Treffen!

– The Queen’s Army –
Focuses on:
Ze’ev “Wolf” Kesley
Set before Cinder, should be read after (at least) Scarlet.
★★★★★

I always want to tug Wolf in, make him a hot chocolate and read him a bedtime story. He’s strong and at the same time sensible. And we have this even more in this story. We get to know how he became what he is. We get to know what Levana and her people did to him. And I can understand now how he still kept his good heart in all of this.

[Titel: Die Armee der Königin(x) – Sollte mindestens nach „Wie Blut so rot“ gelesen werden.]
Ich will Wolf immer zudecken, ihm eine Heiße Schokolade machen und ihm eine Gute Nacht Geschichte vorlesen. Er ist stark und auf der gleichen Seite sensible. Und davon gibt es noch viel mehr in dieser Geschichte. Wir erfahren wie er zu dem geworden ist, was er ist. Wir erfahren, was Levana und ihre Leute mit ihm gemacht haben. Und ich kann jetzt verstehen wie er trotzdem noch sein gutes Herz behalten hat.

– Carswell’s Guide to being lucky –
Fouses on:
Captain (!) Carswell Throne
Set before Cinder, should be read after (at least) Cress.
★★★★★

Oh look, another one of my babies (yeah, they are all, I know!). This story focuses on Thorne when he was still living with his parents, going to school, being nice and friendly and doing nothing criminal. Ha! That boy always knew what to do to get the things he wanted and yes, he might already been a little bit criminal then. Doesn’t make me love him any less! I really love to see him in this time of his life, especially you understand him a lot better after meeting his parents.

Oh guckt, noch eins von meinen Babies (yeah, das sind sie alle, ich weiß!). Diese Geschichte konzentriert sich auf Thorne, als er noch bei seinen Eltern gelebt hat, zur Schule gegangen ist und nett und freundlich war und nichts Kriminelles getan hat. Ha! Dieser Junge wusste schon immer, wie er die Sachen bekommt, die er will und ja, vielleicht war er auch da schon etwas kriminell. Bringt mich nicht dazu ihn irgendwie weniger zu lieben! Ich liebe es wirklich sehr, ihn zu dieser Zeit seines Lebens zu sehen, besonders weil man ihn viel mehr versteht, nachdem man seine Eltern kennen gelernt hat.

– After Sunshine passes by –
Focuses on:
Crescent Moon “Cress” Darnel
Set before Cinder, should be read after (at least) Cress.
★★★★★

Cress is a little ray of sunshine and she doesn’t deserve the things that Levana and Sybil did to her. This story tells how Cress got onto her satellite – her prison. It’s a very sad story for me, because she is always so full of hope in it, just to get hurt in the most terrible way. It makes me even more happy (just like with Cinder in Glitches), that she found all the things she always dreamed of.

Cress ist ein Sonnenschein und sie verdient die Dinge nicht, die Levana und Sybil ihr angetan haben. Diese Geschichte erzählt wie Cress auf ihren Satelliten gekommen ist – ihr Gefängnis. Es ist eine sehr traurige Geschichte für mich, weil sie darin immer voller Hoffnung ist, nur um das auf die schlimmste Art verletzt zu werden. Es macht mich daher noch viel glücklicher (genau wie bei Cinder in Das mechanische Mädchen), dass sie all das gefunden hat, wovon sie immer geträumt hat.

– The Princess and the Guard –
Focuses on:
Princess Winter Hayle-Blackburn & Jacin Clary
Set before Cinder, should be read after Winter.
★★★★★

The story as old as fairytales: The Princess and the boy she can’t have. When it looks during Winter that Jacin gave a lot up for the love of his life, then you will see here much it really is. While it’s great seeing a little more of these two as children it’s also very sad. It not only shows the death of Winter’s father trough her eyes, but also why she gave up her gift and how the scares got onto her face. It makes me more and more proud about how strong of a character she is.

Die Geschichte so alt wie Märchen: Die Prinzessin und der Junge, den sie nicht haben kann. Wenn es während Wie Schnee so weiß so aussieht, als hätte Jacin viel für die Liebe seines Lebens aufgegeben, dann wird man hier sehen wie viel es wirklich ist. Während es toll ist, mehr von den beiden als Kinder zu sehen, ist es trotzdem traurig. Es zeigt nicht nur den Tod von Winters Vater durch ihre Augen, sondern auch warum sie ihre Gabe aufgegeben hat und wie die Narben in ihr Gesicht gekommen sind. Es macht mich immer stolzer, was für ein starker Charakter sie ist.

– The little Android –
Focuses on:
Mech6.0
Set before Cinder, contains no Spoilers for any of the books.
★★★★★

This story is not what you think it is. Yes, it’s about a little Android – but it’s not what you think it is. That’s why I’m not going to tell much about it. Let me just tell you this: It’s a very heartwarming and cute story that I really liked.
Note: Apparently it’s based on “The Little Mermaid”, I’ve never read the original Fairytale, but I sure will now!

Diese Geschichte ist nicht, was ihr glaubt, was sie ist. Ja, es geht um einen kleinen Androiden – aber es ist nicht, was ihr glaubt, was es ist. Deswegen sage ich euch auch nicht, worum es geht. Lasst mich euch nur das sagen: Es ist eine sehr herzerwärmende und süße Geschichte, die ich sehr mochte.
Notiz: Scheinbar basiert es auf „Die kleine Meerjungfrau“, ich habe das original Märchen nie gelesen, aber ich werde es jetzt sicher tun!

– The Mechanic –
Focuses on:
Prince Kai & Linh Cinder (+ a guest appearance by Iko!)
Set during Cinder, contains no Spoilers for any of the books.
★★★★★

It’s Kai’s and Cinder’s first meeting all over again – but from his point of view! Oh and believe me how much I swooned about this story. Okay, about him. While you know what Cinder thinks in this situation and what she thinks about him, we never get to know what was on his mind in that scene. Now we know and it’s so cute. If anyone ever tells me again Love at first Sight don’t exists, then, well: “Let me read The Lunar Chronicles to you. Sit down, have a cookie and enjoy the ride.”

Noch einmal Kais und Cinders erstes Treffen – aber aus seiner Perspektive! Oh und glaubt mir, wie schwindelig ich wegen dieser Geschichte geworden bin. Okay, wegen ihm. Während wir alles wissen was Cinder in der Situation gedacht hat und was sie über ihn gedacht hat, erfahren wir nie, was er in dieser Scene im Kopf hatte. Jetzt tun wir es und es ist so süß. Wenn mir jemals wieder jemand sagt, dass Liebe auf den ersten Blick nicht existiert, dann, na ja: „Lass mich dir Die Luna Chroniken vorlesen. Setz dich hin, nimm dir einen Keks und genieße die Fahrt.“

– Something Old, Something New –
Focuses on:
Cinder & Kai (aka my Babies), Scarlet & Wolf (aka my Alphas), Cress & Thorne (aka my Cutiepies), Winter & Jacin (aka my Cupcakes) & Iko (aka my Star) + a guest appearance Kinney (aka I ship him so hard with Iko!)
Set after Winter, has to be read after Winter (aka it’s full with Spoilers!)
★★★★★ + some Millions more

This story is everything I ever dreamed of. I would read everything about those characters. How they get up in the morning, how they have a movie night, go to the zoo, inner monologues – I don’t care. Everything. And this story is everything to me. It’s the cutest and most heartwarming thing I’ve ever read. Set around two years after the end of Winter, this story shows how they all are still friends and know how to keep secrets together, have fun and don’t care about the outer world when they are together. I’m so, so happy with this. I cried the whole time reading it – of happiness. Believe it or not. And yes, there is also a wedding! I love this. It’s perfect.

Diese Geschichte ist alles wovon ich je geträumt habe. Ich würde alles über diese Charaktere lesen. Wie sie morgens aufstehen, wie sie Filmabende haben, in den Zoo gehen, innere Monologe – ist mir egal. Alles. Und diese Geschichte ist alles für mich. Es ist das süßeste und herzerwärmendeste was ich jemals gelesen habe. Es spielt etwa zwei Jahre nach dem Ende von Wie Schnee so weiß und zeigt, wie sie alle immer noch Freunde sind und immer noch wissen, wie sie zusammen Geheimnisse bewahren und Spaß haben und wie ihnen die Außenwelt egal ist, solange sie zusammen sind. Ich bin so, so glücklich damit. Ich habe die ganze Zeit geweint, während ich es gelesen habe – vor Glück. Glaubt es mir oder nicht. Und ja, es gibt außerdem eine Hochzeit! Ich liebe es. Es ist perfekt.

 

Oh, did I give all the stories 5 stars? I didn’t notice. Well, then I guess the whole book is a 5-stars read. Huh… Who would have thought it? Yeah, I would. What can I say: I love everything about this series.

Oh, habe ich allen Geschichten 5 Sterne geben? Ist mir gar nicht aufgefallen. Na ja, ich vermute, dann bekommt das ganze Buch 5 Sterne. Huh… Wer hätte das gedacht? Jaa, ich hätte. Was soll ich sagen: Ich liebe alles an dieser Reihe.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #13 – Stars Above

Leave a Reply

