Books & Authors #15 – Interview with author Bridget Blackwood

Good morning, my lovely book lovers!

Today I have something special for you, before I’ll go into holidays with my family tomorrow. We’ll be in Austria for the next week. We have an apartment at a horse ranch! It’s partly present for my little sister, because she’s starting school this month. I’m still hoping to see some castles or things like that, but with our baby dog it probably won’t be possible.

Heute habe ich etwas Besonderes für euch, bevor ich morgen in den Urlaub mit meiner Familie fahre. Wir sind in der nächsten Woche in Österreich. Wir haben eine Ferienwohnung bei einem Pferdehof gemietet! Es ist zum Teil ein Geschenk für meine kleine Schwester, weil sie diesen Monat mit der Schule beginnt. Ich hoffe immer noch ein paar Schlösser oder Ähnliches zu sehen, aber mit unserem Babyhund wird das wahrscheinlich nicht möglich sein.

However! Back to the special: This is an interview with Bridget Blackwood! She’s an author and you will get to know her now! Have fun!

Wie auch immer! Zurück zum Spezial: Es ist ein Interview mit Bridget Blackwood! Sie ist Autorin und ihr werdet sie jetzt kennenlernen! Viel Spaß!

 

GET TO KNOW THE AUTHOR

05What strikes you first about Bridget Blackwood is her amazing hair! So colorful it immediately makes you happy. Together with her husband and their three children she lives in Illinois – and the characters living inside her head.

Was einem als erstes an Bridget Blackwood auffällt sind ihre tollen Haare! So bunt, es macht einen sofort glücklich. Zusammen mit ihrem Ehemann und ihren drei Kindern lebt sie in Illinois – und den Charakteren die in ihrem Kopf leben.

ANNI: Favorite Book and/or Author:
BRIDGET:
Ransom by Julie Garwood
A: Favorite Book Genre:
B:
Romance. I dabble in reading horror as well.
A: You’ll never leave the house without…
B:
Lip balm. I have a ton of different kinds all over my house and car.
A: Something that you still absolutely want to do in your life:
B:
Travel to Europe.
A: Coffee or Tea?
B:
Sweet tea.

ANNI: Lieblingsbuch und/oder –autor:
BRIDGET: Eine bezaubernde Braut von Julie Garwood
A: Lieblingsbuchgenre:
B:
Romantik. Ich liebe auch Horror.
A: Du verlässt das Haus niemals ohne…
B:
Lippenbalsam. Ich habe Tonnen von verschiedenen Sorten überall im Haus und Auto.
A: Etwas was du noch unbedingt in seinem Leben machen möchtest:
B: Europa bereisen.
A: Kaffee oder Tee?
B: Süßer Tee.

ABOUT WRITING

ANNI: What made you become a writer?
BRIDGET:
I’ve always had stories in my head. My husband was away from home for military duty and I needed something to occupy my mind.
A: When and where do you write and what inspires you?
B:
I write whenever and wherever I can. With three kids at home 24/7 due to homeschool, I have to get it in where I can.
A: Do you need anything special for writing?
B:
I prefer to write to music.
A: When did you write your first (complete) book?
B:
December 2013.
A: What genre are you most comfortable in when writing and is there one do don’t?
B:
Paranormal romance is where I am most comfortable. I don’t think I’d do very well with high fantasy. Hats off to anyone who can because it is an amazing world they create.

ANNI: Wie bist du Autorin geworden?
BRIDGET: Ich hatte schon immer Geschichten in meinem Kopf. Mein Mann war im Militärdienst weg und ich brauchte etwas um mich abzulenken.
A: Wo und wann schreibst du und was inspiriert dich?
B:
Ich schreibe wann immer und wo immer ich kann. Mit drei Kindern 24/7 Zuhause, da sie Zuhause unterrichtet werden, muss ich es einschieben wo ich kann.
A: Brauchst du etwas Besonderes zum schreiben?
B
: Ich ziehe es vor mit Musik zu schreiben.
A: Wann hast du dein ersten (komplettes) Buch geschrieben?
B: Dezember 2013.
A: Mit welchem Genre fühlst du dich am wohlsten, wenn du schreibst, und gibt es eins, in dem du dich es nicht tust?
B: Bei übernatürlichen Romanzen fühle ich mich am wohlsten. Ich glaube nicht, dass ich mich bei High Fantasy sehr gut schlagen würde. Respekt für alle, die solch wundervolle Welten erschaffen können.

ABOUT THE BOOKS

What reasons will make you love Bridget’s books? Let me just tell you three words: Vampires, Werewolves, Fantasy! Her “World in Shadows” series is split into four books so far, but more is to come. The books are set in a fantasy world with a big touch of romance. Exactly what good books need!

Aus welchen Gründen werdet ihr Bridgets Bücher lieben? Lasst mich euch nur drei Wörter nennen: Vampire, Werwölfe und Fantasy! Ihre Reihe „World in Shadows“ ist bis jetzt in vier Bücher geteilt, aber mehr ist in Arbeit. Die Bücher sind in einer Fantasy Welt mit einem großen Klecks Liebe platziert. Genau was gute Bücher brauchen!

ANNI: For readers who don’t know you yet: Can you describe one (or several) of your books in three words?
BRIDGET:
Rising Shadows: Humans aren’t alone.
A Scarlet Fury: Rise up stronger.
Belong to the Night: Woman becomes vampire.
Lost in Paradise: Paranormal treasure hunt.
A: When you started your first World in Shadows book, did you already have it as a series planned?
B:
No. I had Rising Shadows and Belong to the Night figured out. The others sprang up on their own.
A: What made you decide to put it into multiple-povs?
B:
I like to get into my character’s heads and let them talk directly to the reader. Problem is how do I get the full story out if only one or two people get to talk? I am able to get rounded story and build a stronger connection to future main characters.
A: Are there characters you especially like to write?
B:
Varian Caina, Winter Summersun, and Livia Bonvillian are the most exciting to write.
A: How do you feel when you get good response for your works?
B:
A good response is better than anything else. Puts a smile on my face and a spring in my step for weeks.

ANNI: Für Leser, die dich noch nicht kennen: Kannst du eines (oder mehrere) deiner Bücher in drei Wörtern beschreiben?
BRIDGET:
Rising Shadows: Menschen sind nicht allein. (Im Englischen sind es nur drei.)
A Scarlet Fury: Steige starker auf.
Belong to the Night: Frau wird Vampir.
Lost in Paradise: Übernatürliche Schatzjagt.
A: Als du dein erstes World in Shadows Buch begonnen hast, hattest du es da bereits als Reihe geplant?
B:
Nein. Ich hatte Rising Shadows und Belong to the Night ausgearbeitet. Die anderen sind von allein aufgetaucht.
A: Warum hast du dich entschieden es auch mehreren Sichten zu schreiben?
B:
Ich mag es in den Kopf meiner Charaktere einzutauchen und sie direkt zu mir sprechen zu lassen. Das Problem ist, wie kann ich sie ihre Geschichte erzählen lassen, wenn nur ein oder zwei sprechen lasse? Ich kann abgerundete Geschichten erzählen und baue eine starke Verbindung für zukünftige Charaktere.
A: Gibt es Charaktere die du besonders gerne schreibst?
B:
Varian Caina, Winter Summersun und Livia Bonvillian sind am aufregendsten zu schreiben.
A: Wie fühlst du dich, wenn du gute Rückmeldungen für deine Arbeit bekommst?
B:
Eine gute Rückmeldung ist besser als alles andere. Bringt ein Lächeln auf meine Gesicht und einen Hüpfer in meinen Gang für Wochen.

BONUS

ANNI: Your fairy godmother grants you a wish. You may spend one day with one of your characters. Who will it be and what will you do?
BRIDGET:
Winter Summersun! I get to go to Fairy and see all the amazing sights. Plus, Winter can take me to Ardmore where I can meet the rest of my characters. Huge cook out at the Bonvillian mansion with everyone in attendance.

ANNI: Deine gute Fee gewährt dir einen Wunsch. Du darfst einen Tag mit einem deiner Charaktere verbringen. Wer wird es sein und was unternehmt ihr?
BRIDGET:
Winter Summersun! Ich könnte nach Fairy gehen und all die wundervollen Sehenswürdigkeiten sehen. Plus, Winter kann mich nach Ardmore mitnehmen, wo ich den Rest meiner Charaktere treffe. Zusammen kochen im Bonvillian Anwesen mit allen dabei.

 

I hope I could give you a little look into Bridget’s world with the interview. I can promise you she’s a very nice person – that alone is a good reason to give her books a shot. I’m going to add links to her website, goodreads and co. under the post.

Ich hoffe, ich konnte euch einen kleinen Einblick in Bridgets Welt mit dem Interview geben. Ich kann euch versprechen, dass sie eine wirklich nette Person ist – dass allein ist schon ein guter Grund um ihre Bücher zu lesen. Ich füge Links zu ihrer Website, Goodreads und Co. unter dem Post ein.

Have you read any of her books? Or would you like to? Let me know in the comments.

Habt ihr schon eines ihrer Bücher gelesen? Oder würdet ihr gerne? Lass es mich in den Kommentaren wissen.

Love always,

Anni

 

Plot – Book 1 – Rising Shadows
[Taken from Bridget’s Website.]

Labeled an Arcane, Rachel Ryan wonders is she’s human anymore. After she’s thrown headlong into the world of The Preternatural Rachel learns Shapeshifters, Fearies, and Vampires aren’t legends. They’ve been living hidden in plain sight among humans. In her quest to save a child she will set off a cataclysmic chain of events. Her actions will disrupt the carefully balanced political chess board, casting once powerful pieces to the floor. A werewolf protector, a lost princess, a mad vampire, and an exiled Fae names Winter will rise up to challenge the status quo. A war that has been brewing in the shadows for centuries is ready to explode. Rachel must choose where her allegiance lies, tipping the scales, but who is an enemy and who is a friend?

Bridget’s social media sites: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | WordPress

Photo Credit
Book Covers: (x)
Author Photo: (x)

Leave a Reply

